ARTFORUM

NEWS



Installation view of Sanford Biggers's Shuffle, 2009, on the facade of the Everson Museum in Syracuse, New York. Photo: Light Work. April 09, 2020 at 4:52pm

SANFORD BIGGERS AND ZOE LEONARD AMONG 2020 GUGGENHEIM FELLOWS

The John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation announced on Thursday the 175 recipients of its prestigious Guggenheim Fellowships, which are awarded on the basis of prior achievement. This year's cohort consists of writers, scholars, artists, and scientists working in fifty-three different scholarly disciplines and artistic fields and hailing from thirty-one states, the District of Columbia, and two Canadian provinces. Among the awardees are Rheim Alkadhi, Sanford Biggers, Leslie Hewitt, Sky Hopinka, Zoe Leonard, Patricia Treib, and A.L. Steiner.

Established by Simon and Olga Guggenheim in 1925 in memory of their son, the Guggenheim Fellowship program aims to provide financial support to artists, scholars in the humanities and social sciences, and scientific researchers. Since its inception, the program has granted more than \$375 million in fellowships to over 18,000 individuals. The 2020 class of fellows was selected from a pool of nearly 3,000 applicants.

The full list of fellows can be found on the foundation's <u>website</u>. The awardees in the fields of architecture, planning, and design; drama and performance art; choreography; drama and performance art; film and video; film, video, and new media studies; fine arts; fine arts research; intellectual and cultural history; music research; music composition; photography; and theater arts can be found below:

Fine Arts

Rheim Alkadhi Sanford Biggers J Stoner Blackwell Suzanne Hitt Bocanegra Alice Leora Briggs Suzanne Caporael Shu Lea Cheang Leslie Hewitt Steffani Jemison Osman Khan Ellen Lesperance Steve Locke Helen Mirra Gordon Ennis Moore Cyrilla Mozenter Angel Nevarez Clifford Owens Jennifer Pastor Katy Schimert Cammie Staros Barbara Takenaga Valerie Tevere Patricia Treib